Our Community

More than just a set of desks, Paragraph is a community of novelists, short story writers, journalists, editors, technical writers, memoirists, screenwriters, playwrights, and writers of all other mediums and genres imaginable at various levels of their careers.

This community can often serve as a support network that many writers find missing when they work from the confines of their bedroom or home office. Our community is leveraged in the form of monthly events: readings, in-house editor sessions, workshops to refine craft, agent roundtables and more. Below is a sampling of past event participants.


Hannah Tinti Amy Hempel AM Holmes Jenny Xie Chad Harbach Leslie Jamison Ben Purkert George Black Sophie Jaff Matthew Thomas Francine Prose Andrew Sean Greer Sergio De La Pava Hermione Hoby Alan Burdick Amy Brill Dale Peck Darcy Frey Alexander Chee Sunil Yapa Lisa Ko Amy Meng Allison Amend Elyssa East Roxanna Robinson Beth Gutcheon Rick Moody Joshua Furst Jennifer Vanderbes Lauren Belfer Rebecca Donner Idra Novey Patrick Ryan Evan Hughes Adele Waldman


Alec Shane (Writers House) Amy Tannenbaum (Jane Rotrosen) Ayesha Pande (Pande Literary) Brianne Johnson (Writers House) Bridget Smith (Dunham Literary) Cameron McClure (Donald Maass) Chris Clemans (Janklow & Nesbit) Claudia Ballard (WME) Daniel Lazar (Writers House) David Dunton (Harvey Klinger) Duvall Osteen (Aragi Inc.) Eddie Schneider (JABBERwocky) Henry Dunow (Dunow, Carlson & Lerner) Emilie Stewart (Emilie Stewart Agency) Emily Forland (Brandt & Hochman) Heather Alexander (Pippin Properties) Joy Tutela (David Black) Julie Barer Katherine Fausset (Curtis Brown) Kathy Schneider (Jane Rotrosen) Noah Ballard (Curtis Brown) Kevin O’Connor (Charlotte Sheedy) Kimberly Brower (Rebecca Friedman) Leah Hamos (Gersh) Lexi Wangler (Massie & McQuilkin) Lindsay Edgecombe (Levine Greenberg) Marilyn Allen (Allen O’Shea) Melissa Flashman (Janklow & Nesbit) Renée Zuckerbrot (Renée Zuckerbrot) Rob McQuilkin (Massie & McQuilkin) Sarah Younger (Nancy Yost) Stephanie Koven (Cullen Stanley) Sylvie Greenberg (Fletcher & Co) Victoria Skurnick (Levine Greenberg) Wendy Levinson (Harvey Klinger) Zoë Pagnamenta (Zoë Pagnamenta Agency)


Melissa Ragsly (A Public Space) Anna Raff (SCBWI) Patrick Ryan (One Story) Lily Herman Wandy Felicita Ortiz Julie Trelstad Gretchen Crary Myla Goldberg Lisa Selin Davis Jenny Klion Nancy Rawlinson Patricia Mulcahey Judy Sternlight Rose Fox (Publishers Weekly) Wilda Williams (Library Journal)

Our Writers

Paragraph is where writers write. It is our core mission to provide a space where creativity can flourish. We are proud of the many works that have gone on to be published, produced, or awarded in many different forms and mediums. Here is a brief list of many of the works conceived, written, or edited in our space, and the varied publications that our writers have written for.